Dagupan Solid Waste Management Board formed

DAGUPAN CITY, Aug. 7 (PIA) — An interdepartmental body to oversee the management of solid wastes has been formed in the city.

The Dagupan City government on July 27 created the Solid Waste Management Board with Mayor Benjamin S. Lim as chairman and City Administrator Vladimir T. Mata as vice chairman.

Republic Act No. 9003 or the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act mandates the creation of such a body in every local government unit.

The board will draft the City Solid Waste Management Plan, which would include the protocol on the implementation of waste segregation in barangays.

Comprising the members of the board are Waste Management Division Chief Teddy E. Villamil Jr., Liga ng mga Barangay Pres. Guillermo Vallejos, SK Federation Pres. John Chester Gonzales, City Schools Supt. Alma Ruby Torio, City Police Chief Romeo Caramat Jr., Department of Interior and Local Government Chief Roderick Dawis, City Health Officer Leonard Carbonell, Parent Teacher Association Pres. Bernard Tuliao and City Engr. Virginia Rosario.

The University of Luzon Student in Free Enterprise, Pangasinan Medical Society and Malimgas Aliguas Dagupan Vendors Federation were also named as members.

The Waste Management Division technical working group will serve as the board secretariat.

Waste management is one of the issues that Lim has been trying to address since he was re-elected in 2010. (ANL/ARRF-PIA 1 Pangasinan)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s